4ENCLAVE

A new home for the 4th Edition of the Worlds Oldest Roleplaying Game
 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 
 

 Fan-made versions of missing books like the DMG3?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Semi-Retired Gamer
Wannabe Adventurer
Wannabe Adventurer
avatar

Posts : 20
Join date : 2014-12-01
Age : 45
Location : Oklahoma

Character sheet
Name:
Class:
Race:

PostSubject: Fan-made versions of missing books like the DMG3?   Sun Aug 02, 2015 3:09 pm

It seems that most editions end before some expected book that is on the upcoming schedule (or at least anticipated to be) gets released. One example from 4E is the DMG3. Has there been any fan effort to produce net books replicating any of these hypothetical books?

_________________
I blog (mainly) about role-playing topics at The Semi-Retired Gamer.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://semiretiredgamer.blogspot.com/
C4
Heroic Adventurer
Heroic Adventurer
avatar

Posts : 98
Join date : 2013-09-13

PostSubject: Re: Fan-made versions of missing books like the DMG3?   Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:54 pm

Not that I know of.

I know there are fans who wanted a DMG 3, as well as X Power 2 books and some kind of source which completes the half-finished E-classes. But any one book is a lot of effort for a fan who'll never get paid for the effort.

I should know; I'm writing a 4e spin-off. Wink

_________________
Points of Light: Tactical combat, grand adventure, fine game balance, distinctive options, streamlined rules, zero-to-hero advancement, and a young and fresh fantasy world!

PoL is a work-in-progress, so feel free to let me know what you think. Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://complete4th.wordpress.com
Durriken
Heroic Adventurer
Heroic Adventurer
avatar

Posts : 117
Join date : 2013-09-23
Location : Pittsburgh

Character sheet
Name: Durriken
Class: Disestablishmentarian
Race: Green dragon

PostSubject: Re: Fan-made versions of missing books like the DMG3?   Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:27 am

Back to top Go down
View user profile
skwyd42
Epic Adventurer
Epic Adventurer
avatar

Posts : 302
Join date : 2013-09-15
Age : 48
Location : Central California.

Character sheet
Name: Alain Smith IV
Class: Vampire
Race: Half-Elf

PostSubject: Re: Fan-made versions of missing books like the DMG3?   Mon Aug 03, 2015 3:05 pm

Durriken wrote:
There is this:
Sly Flourish's Running Epic Tier D&D Games

TjD

Yep. I was going to mention this. I have it downloaded, but I haven't gotten into it just yet. Some of the reviews I've read have called it the "DMG3 that WotC never did".

_________________
-skwyd
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Semi-Retired Gamer
Wannabe Adventurer
Wannabe Adventurer
avatar

Posts : 20
Join date : 2014-12-01
Age : 45
Location : Oklahoma

Character sheet
Name:
Class:
Race:

PostSubject: Re: Fan-made versions of missing books like the DMG3?   Sun Sep 06, 2015 4:23 pm

Durriken wrote:
There is this:
Sly Flourish's Running Epic Tier D&D Games

TjD

I'm all over this! Cool

_________________
I blog (mainly) about role-playing topics at The Semi-Retired Gamer.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://semiretiredgamer.blogspot.com/
Garthanos
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 935
Join date : 2013-05-25
Location : Nebraska

Character sheet
Name: Garthanos
Class: Arcadian Knight
Race: Auld Worlder

PostSubject: Re: Fan-made versions of missing books like the DMG3?   Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:55 pm

So sad how early 4e was abandoned...

_________________
Born To Be Kings and Heros -- From the Ashes Phoenix
“A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects.” - Lazarus Long via Robert Heinlein.

One suspects Lugh Long-hand Samildánach (a wright/carpenter, a sailor, a smith/bronze craftsman, a healer, a champion, a harpist, a poet/historian, a sorcerer, cupbearer) would agree.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.dyasdesigns.com/kingsmagic.html
thanson02
Heroic Adventurer
Heroic Adventurer
avatar

Posts : 155
Join date : 2013-10-22
Age : 39
Location : Eau Claire, WI

Character sheet
Name: thanson02
Class: Monk
Race: Human

PostSubject: Re: Fan-made versions of missing books like the DMG3?   Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:32 pm

Yea. Heroes of the Astral Sea and a Feywilds Adventures box should have been my two additional supplements in addition to DMG3. Although I am starting to piece these together based on Dragon and Dungeon articles in 3 ring binders. Slow process, but I think it will be rewarding.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Fan-made versions of missing books like the DMG3?   

Back to top Go down
 
Fan-made versions of missing books like the DMG3?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
4ENCLAVE :: 4th Edition :: 4e General Discussion-
Jump to: